Tohoku region locates on north side of Honshu Island, the main island of Japan. There are six prefectures in this region, Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, and Fukushima. Tohoku region is also known as “Michinoku”, from the name of this region in back days. You can see traditional life styles at many places in this region. Tohoku is famous for their unique dialect, craftwork and festivals. Sendai Tanabata Festival, Aomori Nebuta Festival and Akita Kanto Festival are the big three festivals of Tohoku, and very well known all over Japan. Also Tohoku region is famous for rice producing district. Regional unique brand rice such as Akita-komachi, Sasa-nishiki, and Hitome-bore are produced in this region.

  • Aomori
  • Akita
  • Iwate
  • Yamagata
  • Miyagi
  • Fukushima